Git Along Little Editing-Doggies

Posted: August 2, 2010 in The Making Of Iridium Consequence, Updates from the Outlaw
Tags: ,

Today is a banner day. Today is the day that the incomparable Will Thomas begins the second cut of The Making of Iridium Consequence.

You see, up until this point, I have been the lone editor. I didn’t intend to be the editor at all, but as things came up, the task fell to me, and I am fortunate to have the knowledge necessary to step in. Thanks to my time as a TA in the Intro to Film Production class, I have a basic working knowledge of every facet of production. I am first and foremost a writer, and I’d like to think an above average director. I like to think. I don’t like to say, cause it makes me sound arrogant. But I said it anyhow. Bam.

Anyhow, the point is, I can do the editing, but I am not a great editor. Will is a great editor. And because I did the rough cut, Will will be able to move quickly through the second cut. With only three or four places where he’ll have to basically start over because what I did is so completely awful.

It’s kind of a sad day for me. As much as I have wanted the help, as much as I have whined and cried for help, now that help has come, I have a little bit of that “baby going off to school” feeling. It has been just me and this cut for so long that letting it go is hard.

But if I have to let it go to anyone, Will is the guy.

Leave a Reply

