Look out behind you, Captain! It's the scary aliens!

So it is the one-week anniversary of this blog. Yah! I am going to buy myself a present to celebrate. This is the longest relationship I’ve ever had with a blog. I just want this blog to know, I am in it for the long haul. If you’ve never seen commitment before, this is what it looks like. (cue swelling music and crowd of onlookers. I am possibly breaking up the blog’s wedding to someone else) If anyone has a chance, I know it is us, blog. I want to go to bed thinking about you at night and wake up posting on you the next day. I want to write you in advance so I can go on vacation. I want to have children blogs with you, which are probably twitter accounts, I don’t know. I know it’s crazy. We’ve only known each other for a week. What I am trying to say, (tears well in eyes but do not fall) is that I—I love you, blog. (Random bystanders begin to applaud, because shockingly enough, even the scorned bride’s wedding guests would rather see the blog leave with me.)            

Then Jerry Bruckheimer appears, and I punch him in the face, which is a satisfying conclusion for all the viewers.

So when we were shooting The Making of Iridium Consequence, several important steps fell by the wayside. For example, we had one day of a sort of read through, and it was only Dwight and Maggie, the two lead actors.

Let me tell you, I will never do that again. Probably.

I knew that rehearsal was important, but this was a special case. You see, the year before, we had started making another movie, and after running three separate auditions, never managed to find a suitable cast. Of four. Four people in that movie. Couldn’t cast it. Which is what happens when you happen to be living in the untamed movie hinterlands of North Florida, where a filmmaker has a script in one hand and a six-shooter in the other.

Anyhow, this time around, I came up with a concept, held auditions, then wrote parts for the actors that came to the audition. But that led to shooting time in the studio being crunched. We had a window, and in that window was a big gap where the space ship set was being built, and long story short, there was no time to rehearse.

Another aspect that didn’t get the attention it deserved was on-set photography. One day, we had the super talented Chuck Jackson shoot publicity photos against a wall. He also stepped in to the role of the cranky sound engineer with allergies, and he did a tremendous job. But other than that, we relied on the cast to take pictures of themselves. Anyhow, I am just now getting pictures that Karen Barnes, who came to be a production assistant and was also thrust last minute into a role, took on her phone. All things considered, I am pretty darn pleased with them. So here’s my favorite.

Now get along, little doggies.

Leave a Reply

